What inspired your achievements:
I owe everything I am to my family. My parents were my first readers, editors, and cheerleaders. They made me brave enough to take the risks that led to my trajectory now, from choosing to major in “unhireable” subjects to turning down a lucrative job with Google post-graduation to be a broke graduate student instead.  They’ve taught me that unconventional paths can often be the most interesting ones, and they’ve also given me the support and guidance to explore these paths. I’m incredibly lucky to have them. 
You were chosen to be on ProMazo’s list of Most Interesting Students for a reason. Do you have any advice for other students hoping to create their own success:
Honestly, I’d say just slow down. Success doesn’t always look like what we thought it would, or come when we’re expecting it to. Life is long. It’s unpredictable. You won’t always know what you’re doing or where you’re going — and that’s okay. Take your time, take care of yourself, and enjoy the little things along the way. Often, it’s these “detours” from traditional success that are more illuminating than linear progressions. Sometimes we need to get lost — to slow down, catch our breath and trust that, eventually, we’ll get where we need to go.
That actually gets me into the next question, because nothing captures this sentiment better than this quote from Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things: “Little events, ordinary things, smashed and reconstituted. Imbued with new meaning. Suddenly, they become the bleached bones of a story.”
Favorite quote:
See above!
Biggest role models or inspirations:
My literary role model is Arundhati Roy, an Indian Booker Prize-winning author, activist, and all-around badass. 
My personal role model is my mother. She’s a doctor, but, for visa reasons, had to give up practicing medicine when we moved to the U.S. She’s sacrificed a lot for us, and we are who we are because of her. 
Fun Fact:
I’ve lived in three countries — I was born in India, spent my early childhood in England, and now live in the U.S. My two siblings and I were each born on a different continent! 
Favorite Hobby:
I love reading, especially new finds by women of color, drawing, and Bollywood dancing. 
Career path:
I’d love to pursue graduate studies and eventually work in academia, hopefully as a professor. In the meantime, of course, I definitely plan to keep writing.


Back to Top